top of page

Unsere Mission

Artboard 1.png

Shaping Impact

Während wir planen, unsere Technologie auf andere Anwendungen in der Verpackungsindustrie auszudehnen, liegt unser Fokus jetzt auf der Reduzierung des durch Plastikbecher und Verpackungsfolien verursachten Abfalls.

Unsere Produkte werden die Auswirkungen von Verpackungen auf unsere Umwelt deutlich und nachweislich minimieren. 

Raising Awareness

Plastikmüll wirkt sich negativ auf das Ökosystem und die menschliche Gesundheit aus. Trotz des Ausmaßes des Problems sind die Öffentlichkeit und die wichtigsten Interessengruppen nicht ausreichend engagiert und nicht ausreichend darüber informiert, wie sie Teil der Lösung sein können.

Unser Ziel ist es, das Verständnis für die Gefahren von Plastik zu verbessern und mehr Menschen und Organisationen zum Handeln zu motivieren. 

Creating Innovation

Noriware schafft Innovation, indem die Kraft der schnell erneuerbaren Algen genutzt wird. Die Produktion des Rohstoffs hinterlässt einen negativen CO2-Fußabdruck, und das Endprodukt hinterlässt keinen Restmüll.

 

Die Innovation von Noriware gibt der Alge eine neue Bedeutung und bietet eine CO2-neutrale Alternative zu herkömmlichen Alltagsverpackungen.

Unsere Vision

Wir wollen die Verpackungsindustrie revolutionieren, indem wir eine wirklich nachhaltige, selbst kompostierbare Alternative zu herkömmlichem Plastik anbieten. Dabei wollen wir führend in punkto Transparenz sein, um die Branche zu mehr Nachhaltigkeit zu motivieren

Jessica Farda Noriware.jpg

Jessica Farda

Cofounder

CEO
Lisa-Jo.png

Lisa-Jo Roth



Chemist
Stefan Grieder-009.jpg

Stefan Grieder

Cofounder

COO
Kay_Sanvito-Capture0015-4-2.jpg

Kay Sanvito



Material Scientist
f_fullwidthtop.jpeg

Daniel Widner



CTO
DSC09024_edited_edited.jpg

Michael Spälti



Chemist
1670668934903.jpg

Elham Martin



Bio-Chemist
1579162273772.jpeg

Gabriel Barmettler



Business Developer
Karsten Frick @ Noriware.jpeg

Prof. Karsten Frick

Lecturer for high performance polymers
Daniel Zürcher 2.jpg

Daniel Zürcher

Plastics Technologist

Beratungsgremium

Etran.jpg

Ertan Wittwer

 

 

 

 

Board Member

Markus_Grob_Portrait_edited.jpg

Prof. Dr. Markus Grob

Advisor Chemistry

f_fullwidthtop_edited.jpg

Prof. Dr. Christian Brauner

 

Advisor Engineering

tonini.jpg

Christoph Tonini

 

 

 

Business Advisor

1650987037169.jpeg

Ronald Graf

 

 

 

Packaging Advisor

Wie alles begann

Ein spielerischer Gedanke wurde zur Leidenschaft

Während eines Urlaubs in Mexiko wurde Jessica auf die vielen Algen aufmerksam, die an den Stränden angeschwemmt wurden, und sie fragte sich, welche bestehenden Produkte Algen enthielten. Als sie in die Schweiz zurückkehrte und an der Universität St. Gallen ihren Abschluss in internationalen Beziehungen machen musste, begann sie, über das Potenzial von Algen zu recherchieren und stellte fest, dass Algen die richtigen Eigenschaften haben, um in nachhaltige Verpackungen umgewandelt zu werden. Daraufhin bestellte sie sich alle notwendigen Materialien nach Hause und versuchte sich selbst an der Herstellung von Plastik, wobei ihr erster Versuch sprichwörtlich in die Hose ging. Denn beim morgendlichen Umziehen warf sie versehentlich ihre Hose auf das Regal, auf dem sie ihre Folie trocknen ließ. Da sie keine Zeit hatte, sie zu waschen, ließ sie sie auf einem Stuhl trocknen. Als sie abends nach Hause kam, hatte sich der perfekte Plastikfilm auf ihrer Hose gebildet. Von diesem Moment an wurde aus einem spielerischen Gedanken eine Leidenschaft.

 

Ohne wissenschaftlichen Hintergrund und sonstige Erfahrung im Bereich der Materialwissenschaften war es jedoch zunächst schwierig, zu Hause brauchbare Prototypen herzustellen. Sie reichte deshalb ein Forschungsgesuch an der ETH Zürich ein, das innert kurzer Zeit bewilligt wurde. 

 

Mit den hervorragenden Forschungsergebnissen der ETH brauchte sie ein Team, mit dem sie ihre Vision weiterverfolgen konnte. Julius, Chemiker und Materialwissenschaftler an der ETH, liess sich schnell von der Idee anstecken. Schon vor dem ersten offiziellen Treffen hatte er einen sechsmonatigen Forschungsplan ausgearbeitet. Stefan hat durch seinen Job und sein Studium am Institut für Kunststofftechnik viele Polymeransätze kennengelernt. Bisher hat ihn aber keiner so sehr überzeugt wie unser Algenkonzept. Schliesslich hörte Leander, Umweltingenieur an der ETH und persönlich sehr daran interessiert, etwas gegen Mikroplastik zu unternehmen, von uns und wollte unbedingt bei unserer Mission mitwirken.

Meilensteine

2022 Q2

Entrepreneurial Talents-Programm HSG

bottom of page

Our Mission

Artboard 1.png

Shaping Impact

While we plan to expand our technology to other applications in the packaging industry, our focus now is on reducing the waste generated by plastic cups and packaging films.

Our products will significantly and evidentially minimize the impact of packaging on our environment. 

Raising Awareness

Plastic waste negatively impacts both the ecosystem and human health. Despite the magnitude of the problem, the public and key stakeholders are not sufficiently engaged and educated on how they can be part of the solution.

We aim to improve the understanding of the dangers of plastic, and to empower more people and organizations to take action. 

Creating Innovation 

Noriware creates innovation by tapping into the power of rapidly renewable algae. The production of the raw material creates a negative carbon footprint, with the final product leaving no residual waste.

 

Noriware's innovation gives new meaning to algae and offers a CO2-neutral alternative to conventional everyday packaging.

Our Vision

We want to revolutionize the packaging industry by offering a truly sustainable, home-compostable alternative to traditional plastic. In doing so, we want to be the leader in transparency to motivate the industry to be sustainable.

Our Team

Jessica Farda Noriware.jpg

Jessica Farda

Cofounder

CEO
“We need to stop creating new packaging solutions that create new problems. It is time for a solution that is sustainable in the long term throughout all dimensions”
 
Stefan Grieder-009_edited.jpg

Stefan Grieder

Cofounder

COO
“The time is ripe for polymers that are truly holistically conceptualised”



 
Julius Thoma-028-Bearbeitet_pp-Bearbeitet_edited.jpg

Julius Thoma



Chemist & Material Scientist
"I consider the packaging industry backward in terms of the input materials used, which must be made use of in order to take a step towards an environmentally conscious future"
Leander Hollinger-011-Bearbeitet_pp-Bear

Leander Hollinger



Environmental Engineer
“Plastic is ubiquitous and reliable. However, every plastic produced contributes to the destruction of our planet. With our alternative there is no more argument not to switch to a better solution.”
Karsten Frick @ Noriware.jpeg

Prof. Karsten Frick

Lecturer for high performance polymers
f_fullwidthtop-2.jpeg

Daniel Widner

Material Scientist
Michael spälti.png

Michael Spälti

Chemist
Daniel Zürcher 2.jpg

Daniel Zürcher

Plastics Technologist 

Advisory Board

Markus_Grob_Portrait_edited.jpg

Prof. Markus Grob

Advisor Chemistry

f_fullwidthtop_edited.jpg

Prof. Christian Brauner

Advisor Engineering

tonini.jpg

Christoph Tonini

Business Advisor

How it started

A fun thought turned into passion

When Jessica was on holiday in Mexico, she became aware of all the seaweed washing up on the beaches and wondered which existing products contained seaweed. When she returned to Switzerland and had to study for her degree in international affairs at the University of St. Gallen, she started researching the potential of algae and realised that algae had the right properties to be transformed into sustainable packaging. She then ordered all the necessary materials home and tried to make plastic herself, with her first experiment taking a proverbial tumble. Because while changing in the morning, she accidentally threw her pants on the shelf where she was letting her film dry. Since she didn't have time to wash them, she let them dry on a chair. When she came home in the evening, the perfect plastic film had formed on her pants. From that moment on a fun thought turned into a passion.

Without a scientific background and other experience in the field of materials science however, it was initially difficult to produce usable prototypes at home. She therefore submitted a research proposal to ETH Zurich, which was approved within short time. 

 

With the excellent research results from ETH, she needed a team with which she could pursue her vision. Julius, a chemist and materials scientist at ETH, didn't take long to be swept up by the idea. He had already worked out a six-month research plan before the first official meeting. Stefan has become acquainted with many polymer approaches through his job and his studies at the Institute of Polymer Technology. So far, however, none has convinced him as much as our algae concept. Finally, Leander, with a degree in environmental engineering from ETH and a strong personal interest in taking action against microplastics, heard from us and was eager to join our mission. 

Milestones

2021 Q2

Business idea & prototyping at home

2021 Q4

ETH Zurich funding approval

2021 Q3

Letter of patronage & Fromm pitch